Essay -The History of MLP

My Little Pony History

The first My Little Pony toy was “My Pretty Pony”, a pony figurine released by Hasbro in 1981. My Pretty Pony was a 10″ tall hard plastic figurine that could wiggle its ears, swish its tail, and wink one eye.


My Pretty Pony


(Mum thinks she and Aunty KC may have had one of these!)

The first actual “Generation” of ponies was Generation 1. The original line of ponies began with the “Earth Ponies” in 1982. The Earth Ponies were followed by Pegasus Ponies, Unicorn Ponies, Flutter Ponies and Sea Ponies. Flutter Ponies were smaller and thinner than Pegasus Ponies, and had fluttering wings. Windy Wing and the Summer Wing Ponies were smaller than the Flutter Ponies and were proportioned in a similar way, with larger, butterfly-like wings. The Sea Ponies resembled seahorses, and were produced as both adults and babies. In the “Generation 1” My Little Pony movies, it had humans in it and most of the ponies had a bow on the start of their tails.


Generation 1

Generation 1


Generation 2, also known as Friendship Garden Ponies, had a more round snout, jewel eyes, turning heads and were smaller then Generation 1. Generation 2 ponies also were slimmer and had longer legs then Generation 1. The Generation 2 line was not successful in the U.S. and was discontinued in 1999, although it continued overseas for several years. Most of Generation 2 ponies were “Earth Ponies”, some “Unicorns” were made internationally. There were no “Pegasus Ponies”, but a few of the ponies had Clip-on wings. Generation 2 didn’t have a series/movie, unlike other My Little Pony generations. Generation 2 was just a Toy line.

Generation 2 Friendship Garden Ponies

Generation 2 Friendship Garden Ponies


Generation 3 pony toys had squarer snouts, and were fatter then generation 2. Generation Three is set in the fictional town of Ponyville, which is centered on Celebration Castle. Only Earth Ponies were released from 2003 to 2005, but in 2005 and 2006 Pegasus Ponies and Unicorn Ponies were introduced. Despite the redesign as Core 7 and the advent of the Friendship is Magic line, Hasbro has continued the collector-themed “G3” ponies in their original poses. Core 7 (Also known as Generation 3.5), introduced in 2009, was when Hasbro redesigned the My Little Pony characters, and limited the ponies to seven main characters: Cheerilee, Toola-Roola, Pinkie Pie, Rainbow Dash, Scootaloo, Sweetie Belle and Starsong.

Generation 3

Generation 3.5

The fourth generation and current incarnation of My Little Pony began with the TV show My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic in 2010 and the associating toy line is often referred to

Generation Four or “G4” by collectors. It features nine characters tied into the television series, which airs on Discovery Family: Twilight Sparkle, Rainbow Dash, Fluttershy, Pinkie Pie, Applejack, Rarity, Spike the Dragon, Princess Celestia, and Princess Luna. Set in Equestria, the show centers on the unicorn pony Twilight Sparkle as she learns lessons about friendship. Most of the characters on the show were designed by animator Lauren Faust, who also developed the show for television.


Generation 4


Generation 4 Friendship is Magic – TV Poster



Soon, there will be more My Little Pony generations to come.

Sophia Lawless (age 9) 15 August 2016

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s